Free Consultation
Call Us (720) 379-6363
Text Us (719) 534-3132
Call Us (720) 379-6363
Text Us (719) 534-3132
 Image One  Image Two  Image Three

Car Insurance Minimums in Colorado

Car Insurance Minimums In Colorado

In Colorado, it is against the law to drive a motor vehicle without having at least the minimum required amounts of automobile insurance coverage. Driving without insurance can result in fines and other penalties.

If you get into an accident and the other driver does not meet the minimum car insurance coverage requirements, you may need a car accident lawyer in Denver to help you seek fair financial compensation for your losses.

What Is the Minimum Car Insurance in Colorado?

Anyone who owns a motor vehicle and plans on driving it in Colorado is required to carry liability insurance. This type of coverage pays for another person’s bodily injuries, medical bills and property damage after an at-fault accident.

In Colorado, the following minimum types of motor vehicle insurance are mandatory for all drivers:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury or death insurance per person
  • $50,000 for bodily injury or death insurance per accident
  • $15,000 for property damage insurance

All drivers are required to show proof of insurance after being stopped by law enforcement. Under Colorado Revised Statute 42-4-1409, operating a motor vehicle without the required insurance is a class 1 misdemeanor traffic offense that is punishable with a fine of at least $500, potential driver’s license suspension and/or community service.

Do I Need Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Insurance in Colorado?

Uninsured and underinsured motorist (UI/UIM) insurance are two optional types of car insurance coverage in Colorado. While this coverage is not required, it can be helpful to a driver who gets involved in a car accident with an uninsured motorist. In this scenario, your own car insurance company would pay for the crash. As is the case in most states, you must reject UM/UIM coverage in writing if you do not want it when purchasing a car insurance policy.

How Does a Car Accident Claim in Colorado Work?

Colorado is a “fault-based” state. This means that if you get injured or sustain property damage in a motor vehicle accident in Colorado, you can bring a claim against the person or party at fault for the crash. The other driver should have the minimum car insurance coverage under state law to pay for your medical bills and property damage. However, you or your car accident attorney must prove that the other driver is at fault to qualify for these benefits.

What Are My Options After a Car Accident in Colorado?

After a car accident, call the police to report the crash and obtain a police report. Exchange information with the other driver, including the name of his or her insurance company and the policy number. Seek medical attention immediately for your injuries. Then, contact the other driver’s insurer to file a claim.

If you or your attorney can prove that the other driver is more likely to be at fault for your car accident than not, the insurance company will most likely accept your claim and offer a settlement. If your claim is denied or the settlement does not adequately reimburse you for your losses, you may need an attorney to help you negotiate with the insurance company.

Another option may be filing a personal injury lawsuit against the driver or a third party, such as the driver’s employer, the manufacturer of a defective car part or the government for a road defect. A Denver personal injury attorney can help you review your options during a free consultation and choose the right one based on your circumstances. Then, your lawyer can negotiate for maximum financial compensation from an insurance company for your losses.