Free Consultation (303) 993-4323
Free Consultation (303) 993-4323
Denver Accident Attorneys at Work in Conference Denver Accident Attorneys at Work in Conference Image One Denver Accident Attorneys at Work in Conference Image Two Denver Accident Attorneys at Work in Conference Image Three

Denver Drunk Driving Accident Lawyer

Despite laws against driving under the influence of alcohol, drunk drivers kill or injure thousands of people every year. If you have been injured by a drunk driver, contact The Fang Law Firm as soon as possible. Our experienced Denver drunk driving accident lawyers are committed to holding drunk drivers accountable and recovering compensation for the people they hurt.

Why Choose Us for Your Attorneys?

  • At The Fang Law Firm in Denver, Colorado, we do not employ paralegals or legal assistants.
  • All our cases are handled directly by Denver personal injury attorneys who will give you their undivided attention.
  • Our Denver car accident lawyers have more than 10 years of combined experience litigating over 10,000 cases, with a success rate of 98%.
  • Each case we handle is individually-tailored to suit our clients’ unique needs.

Why You Need a Lawyer

Drunk driving is against the law and clearly dangerous. The drunk driver’s insurance company may offer to settle if it accepts that its policyholder was at fault for the accident. However, you should not accept a settlement without first consulting with an experienced Denver drunk driving accident attorney. Insurance adjusters have the insurance company’s best interests at heart. They will make a lowball offer that does not cover all your losses to make your claim go away as cheaply as possible.

Drunk Driving Statistics

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) reports that in 2016:

  • 9,477 fatal alcohol-impaired driving crashes occurred on America’s roadways
  • 10,497 people were killed in the U.S. in drunk driving accidents
  • 28 people in the U.S. were killed every day by drunk drivers

Colorado Drunk Driving Laws

Under Colorado statutes, CRS 42-4-1301, the term “driving under the influence” means driving under the influence of alcohol, one or more drugs, or a combination of alcohol and drugs. First DUI is a misdemeanor. However, it becomes a class four felony when a violation occurs after three or more prior convictions arising out of separate and distinct criminal episodes.

Like many other states, Colorado sets “per se” blood alcohol concentration (BAC) at .08%. This means that a driver with a BAC of .08% can be convicted of DUI without any other evidence of impairment. For drivers under the age of 21, the state enforces a zero-tolerance law in which a BAC of .02% to .05% could result in a conviction.

DUI penalties may include automatic driver’s license suspension, fines, and a long list of fees. As stated by the Colorado Department of Transportation (CO DOT), average costs associated with a first-time DUI can total $13,530.

Holding Drunk Drivers Accountable

To pursue a civil action against a drunk driver, you must show that:

  • The driver was alcohol-impaired
  • The driver caused the accident because of his or her impairment
  • You were injured in the crash

Damages you may be entitled to claim include past and future medical expenses, lost wages, loss of earning potential, pain and suffering, and emotional distress. Our Denver drunk driving accident lawyers will assess the full extent of your injuries and pursue the maximum compensation available under the law.

Contact The Fang Law Firm Today

Our Denver drunk driving accident attorneys are dedicated legal advocates for victims of drunk drivers. We will fight against the insurance company or responsible party to protect your rights and gain the compensation you deserve. If you have been injured by a drunk driver, contact The Fang Law Firm in Denver right away.