With the New Year, the Colorado General Assembly enacted new laws that will govern everything from the strength of beer on grocery store shelves to how much money people should make per hour. These laws will have a significant impact on what Colorado residents can purchase, earn, and apply for. Our Denver personal injury attorneys want you to stay informed about the upcoming changes to Colorado’s state laws and learn more about what they mean by reading below.
The Colorado General Assembly approved Amendment 70 for incremental wage increases between 2017 and 2020. Beginning on January 1st, 2019, Colorado’s minimum wage will increase by $.90. The new minimum wage will be $11.10 per hour. By 2020, the state minimum wage will reach $12 per hour, after which the state will increase the wage annually based on the cost of living in Colorado.
The Colorado General Assembly is implementing an increase in the average market rates for cannabis sales in the state. This increase will help raise tax revenue from marijuana. This change comes as a response to a report by the Colorado Department of Revenue.
As a result, the Colorado Department of Revenue will increase the excise tax rate, which is currently 15%. When the agency increases the tax rate, growers will increase their consumer prices.
Colorado residents who cannot provide proof of status in the United States can still apply for and receive a Colorado state driver’s license. Currently, these individuals must use an Individual Taxpayer Identification Number to receive a license, which causes backups at the Department of Motor Vehicles.
With the new law, immigrants can use a Social Security Number to receive a license. In addition, undocumented Colorado residents can now make an appointment to renew their licenses online.
If visitors take a trip to a Colorado State Park after January 1st, 2019, they will have to pay extra fees. The state will increase daily vehicle passes, individual passes, and off-leash dog passes by $1. The cost of an annual State Park pass will increase to $10.
These fee changes also apply to certain licenses. Annual fishing license fees will increase from $25 to $33. Large game license fees will increase from $250 to $300. In addition, Colorado boaters will have to pay a new $25 fee for an Aquatic Nuisance Species stamp.
Colorado Parks and Wildlife will also increase and add many other fees to its roster.
Not all Colorado State Parks fees will increase in 2019 – the Annual Affixed Vehicle Replacement Pass will remain at $5.
A new bill will allow for Colorado grocery and convenience stores to sell full-strength beer. Beer over a 3.2% alcohol content can now be sold through these outlets. However, any store that wants to sell full-strength beer must be at least 500 feet away from any school. In addition, the law lowers the age that employees need to be to sell beer from 21 years old to 18 years old. However, wine and liquor are still only available at licensed liquor stores.